2014–15 CIHR-IHSPR Article of the Year Award Recipients

June 11, 2015

Share Post

The CIHR Institute of Health Services and Policy Research (CIHR-IHSPR) is pleased to announce that Drs. David Urbach and Nancy Baxter have received the 2014-15 CIHR-IHSPR Article of the Year Award. The award is intended to recognize published research in a peer-reviewed journal that has significantly contributed to the advancement of the field of health services and policy research in Canada.

The CIHR-IHSPR Article of the Year Review Committee selected Drs. Urbach and Baxter’s article, “Introduction of Surgical Safety Checklists in Ontario, Canada ” for its relevance to health services and policy research, as well as for the extent to which they contribute to the advancement of this field of research in Canada and have an impact on policy.

In addition to receiving an award of $10,000, Drs. Urbach and Baxter will be honoured at the Canadian Association for Health Services and Policy Research (CAHSPR) conference, held in Montreal in May 2015.

Urbach DR, Govindarajan A, Saskin R, Wilton AS, Baxter N., Introduction of Surgical Safety Checklists in Ontario, Canada. N Engl J Med. 2014 March 13; 370:1029-1038. doi: 10.1056/NEJMsa1308261

David Urbach (MD, MSc) is Professor of Surgery and Health Policy, Management and Evaluation at The University of Toronto (U of T), a Scientist at the Institute for Clinical Evaluative Sciences (ICES), and Head of the Research Division of Support, Systems and Outcomes at the Toronto General Hospital Research Institute.

Nancy Baxter (MD, PhD, FRCSC, FACS) is an Associate Professor in the Department of Surgery and Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation at the U of T and a Senior Scientist at ICES.

Related News

Image of the world with a grid of faces behind it

New Academic Centre Unites Four Health Sciences Faculties to Address Global Ecological Change

December 7, 2023


Read More
Image of attendees at the Moonshot 2023 event

Moonshot 2023: An Evening of Celebration, Learning, and Community Building 

December 7, 2023

Awards / Faculty / Students

Read More
Valeria Rac

Dr. Valeria Rac named Canada Research Chair in Health System and Technology Evaluation

December 6, 2023

Faculty / Research

Read More
Image of Class of 2024 from the QIPS program

Speaking the same language: QIPS program develops and connects change makers and innovators across the health system

October 2, 2023

Education / Faculty / Students

Read More
Headshots of the 2023 Vanier Winners

2023 Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships

August 29, 2023

Awards / Students

Read More

OHT Impact Fellows help build a learning health system in Ontario

August 14, 2023


Read More

Sign up for IHPME Connect.

Keep up to date with IHPME’s News & Research, Events & Program, Recognition, e-newsletter.

* indicates required

Get in Contact


Email Address: ihpme.communications@​utoronto.ca

Manages all IHPME-wide communications and marketing initiatives, including events and announcements.