• Excellence in Teaching
  • Excellence in Program Leadership
  • Excellence in MSc/PhD Thesis Supervision
  • Outstanding Faculty/ Preceptor / Tutor / Mentor / Capstone Advisor
  • Excellence in Program/Faculty Leadership activities within the Institute, School or University

Eligibility Note

For IHPME faculty, tutors, and preceptors.

Assessment Criteria

Recipients will be selected by a peer review process adjudicated by the IHPME Awards Committee. Performance in the following areas of teaching/mentoring will be considered as appropriate for each award:

  • Classroom instruction (including lecturing and small-group teaching)
  • Consultation with students outside of class (including individual tutoring and advising)
  • Thesis and practicum supervision
  • Course design
  • Curriculum development
  • Production of educational material (including text books and study guides)
  • Development of programs to improve teaching
  • Research on university teaching
  • Development of innovative teaching methods; and
  • Educational planning and policy making


Evidence of outstanding performance in one or more of the above categories will be derived from a number of courses, including:

  • Formal evaluation of student evaluations of courses and practicum
  • Student petitions
  • Testimonial letters from students, alumni, fellow faculty members and administrators
  • Endorsements from student councils or associations

If you would like to nominate any faculty member, preceptor or tutor, please complete the submission form.


2023 Supervision/Mentorship Winners

Best Thesis Supervisor – Drs. Nick Daneman & Ryan Brydges
Best Mentor – Dr. Eric Nauberg

2023 Teaching Award Winners

Health Services Research – Drs. Beverly Essue & Peter Coyte
Health Informatics – Dr. Aviv Shachak
Quality Improvement & Patient Safety – Dr. Katrina Piggott
Clinical Epidemiology – Dr. Neill Adhikari
System Leadership & Innovation – Drs. Sara Allin & Nadia Alam
Health Administration –Tina Smith
Health Professions Education Research – Dr. Tina Martimianakis

2023 Program Leadership Winner

Drs. JIll Tinmouth & Karim Keshavjee

Make a Donation to an Award

Please consider donating to one of IHPME’s awards. We appreciate our community’s contributions to ensuring excellence in healthcare.