Celebrate the cultivation of knowledge.

At IHPME, we like to recognize the outstanding people who make whole our community of students, faculty and alumni. But beyond recognition, we like to celebrate all the ways they make healthcare better. Thank you to our generous donor communities who help make it possible.

Choose an award. Make a donation.

IHPME Faculty Awards

Eugenie Stuart Awards

IHPME Open Awards

Emerging Health Systems Leaders Award in Honour of Louise Lemieux-Charles (Chair 2002-2012)

2016 Winner – Lauren Bell
2015 Winner – Emily Musing
2014 Winners – Miin Alikhan & Lee Fairclough

An award supported by the IHPME Society of Graduates in honour of past Chair and Director, Louise Lemieux-Charles.

Kevin J. Leonard Award

2017 Winner – Quynh Pham
2016 Winner – Craig Thompson
2015 Winner – Teja Voruganti

An award for students who engage and empower patients through the use of technology to become partners in their own healthcare.

Health Equity and Social Justice Award in Honour of Diana Moeser

2017 Winner – Vinusha Gunasaleen
2016 Winner – Bonnie Cheuk
2015 Winner – Sophia Ali

An award for students whose work is guided by the goal of health equity and social justice.

Esta Wall Award of Excellence in Gerontology

2017 Inaugural Winner – Natalie Warrick

An award for students who have provided outstanding leadership and made the most significant contributions in the field of geriatrics, gerontology or long-term care. This is a merit-based award.

Peggy Leatt Knowledge & Impact Award

2016 Inaugural Winner – G. Ross Baker

An award for healthcare scholars.

MSc & PhD Research Concentration Awards

Ontario Graduate Scholarship (OGS)

Recognizes academic excellence in graduate studies at the master's and doctoral levels.

Harry and Rose Perlstein Award

2016 Winner – Joseph Carson
2015 Winner – Shawn Mondoux
2014 Winner – Jarred Rosenberg

An award for the best MSc QIPS paper to support quality and safety in long-term or post-acute care hospitals.

Thomas & Edna Naylor Memorial Award

2017 Winner – Romina Brignardello Petersen
2016 Winner – Carol Oliveira
2015 Winner (tie) – Natasha Saunders
2015 Winner (tie) – Dallas Seitz

An award for best paper based on thesis in Health Services and Health Care Research.

Ted Goldberg Award

2017 Winner – Mark Tatangelo
2016 Winner – Natasha Lane
2015 Winner – Avi Biswas

Award for academic excellence and promise for doctoral candidates in Health Services Research.

Claire Bombardier Award

2017 Winner – Faraj Abdallah (MSc)
2017 Winner, Gold – Madhur Nayan (PhD)
2017 Winner, Platinum – Chris Wallis (PhD)
2016 Winner –  Michelle Scholzberg (MSc)
2016 Winner, Gold – Romina Brignardello (PhD)
2016 Winner, Platinum – Kate Nelson (PhD)
2015 Winner – Natasha Saunders (MSc)
2015 Winner, Gold – Elinor Simons (PhD)
2015 Winner, Platinum – Saswata Deb (PhD)

Most promising student in Clinical Epidemiology & Health Care Research concentration.

MHSc Health Administration Awards

Robert Wood Johnson Award

2016 Winner – Sandra Racco-Cella

The Robert Wood Johnson Award, established in 1956 by Johnson & Johnson Medical Products Inc., is exclusively for graduate students in health administration programs in Canada.

Harold Livergant Award

2017 Winner – Kimberly Chetwynd
2016 Winner – Jordanne Holland
2015 Winner – Lina Neves
2014 Winner – Sandra Racco

Outstanding Year 1 student in the field of Complex Continuing Care Management and/or Policy.

Research Day Awards

Maureen Dixon Memorial Award

2017 Winner – Nicholas Howell
2016 Winner – Lauren Lapointe Shaw
2015 Winner – Julia Ho

  • Best oral presentation or poster related to Community Based, Consumer or Caregiver Group – $400 Open

Robert Duff Barron Award

2017 Winner – Carla Sorbara
2016 Winner – Denise Jaworsky
2015 Winner – Naaz Bashir

  • Best oral presentation or poster related to Public Health Policy or most closely related academic field – $500 Open
Open Oral Presentation Awards

2017 Best Oral Presentations - Award Topics & Winners
Poster Awards per Program
2016 Best Poster Award Winners

Society of Graduates Awards

IHPME graduates are leaders in government, health care, academia and research – shaping our health care system through innovative and creative thinking and leadership.

The Society of Graduates supports and celebrates this excellence through its Leadership, Innovation and Literary Awards. Presented annually, the awards recognize the accomplishments and contributions of IHPME Alumni.

2016 SOG Award Winners

SOG Past Award Winners

Leadership Awards (2)
Graduate Literary Awards (2)